Western Writers of America will meet in Great Falls June 22-25

Western Writers of America will present the Spur Awards, induct two outstanding writers into the Western Writers Hall of Fame, and host sessions on history, writing, and publishing trends at the WWA’s 69th Annual Convention from May 22 to June 25 in Great Falls.

Western novelist Irene Bennett Brown and Native American writer Vine Deloria Jr. will be inducted into the Western Writers Hall of Fame on Friday, June 24.

Brown also receives the Owen Wister Award for his outstanding contributions to Western literature over his decades-long career. She writes historical fiction for adult and juvenile writers and will deliver the keynote, “Unexpected Wonders in a Writer’s World,” at 10:30 a.m. This session is open to the public free of charge. Deloria is best known for her story, “Custer died for your sins.”

The convention kicks off Wednesday, June 22 with a day trip to Fort Benton followed by an opening reception that evening at the Holiday Inn and Convention Center in Great Falls.

Throughout the week, writers will discuss Montana Vigilantes, the 19th century buffalo hunt on the Northern Plains, and there will be several writing and publishing sessions focused on writing fiction and non-fiction. fiction.

Presenters include WWA President Chris Enss, Vice President Phil Mills, Hall of Fame writers Johnny D. Boggs and Michael and Kathleen O’Neal Gear, plus past and current Spur winners David Heska Wanbli Weiden, SD Nelson, Jane Little Botkin and David. Raven.

Montana presenters include Kat Martin, LJ Martin, Ken Robison, Cathy Moser, Quackgrass Sally, Betty McCarthy, Carol Buchannan and Jeff Malcomson.

Anyone interested in attending the panels and sessions of the convention is invited to register on site at the Holiday Inn, 1100 5e St. S., beginning at 3 p.m. Wednesday, June 22.

Western Writers of America was founded in 1953 to honor and promote all forms of literature about the American West. Today, it has over 700 members from across the country and around the world. Members include CJ Box, Anne Hillerman, Lucia St. Clair Robson, Craig Johnson and Michael Punke. In previous years, many Montana writers received recognition, including Ivan Doig, Richard S. Wheeler, Terry C. Johnston, Dorothy Johnson, and A.B. Guthrie.

Comments are closed.