Lithuania eases entry restrictions for 3 Spanish islands and French Guiana

From Monday, December 13, travelers from three Spanish islands – Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria – and the French overseas department of French Guiana will be subject to facilitated entry restrictions when they reach the Lithuania.

The decision was announced by the Lithuanian Ministry of Health in a press release issued on Friday December 9 and means that travelers from these regions are no longer required to self-quarantine when they arrive in Lithuania.

From Monday, December 13, three islands of the Kingdom of Spain will be removed from the red zone of the list of countries affected by coronavirus infection: Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria, and the French overseas department of French Guyana,», Explains the ministry, noting that these countries are now placed on the yellow list.

Travelers on the yellow list, like all others, are required to complete an online registration form within 48 hours before the start of the trip and then present the confirmation (QR code) to the carrier before departure.

When traveling with private transport, travelers should show the QR code to staff at the Lithuanian National Public Health Center (LPHC) or other officers at the border checkpoint or passenger checkpoint, SchengenVisaInfo reports .com.

At the same time, travelers in the yellow category must show proof of COVID-19 vaccination or previous recovery from the virus upon arrival in Lithuania. If they do not have such evidence, they are required to present negative results from a COVID-19 test performed before departure.

PCR test for COVID-19 should be done within 72 hours before entering Lithuania with negative result, antigen test should be done within 48 hours before entering Lithuania with negative result. A document attesting to a negative test must be presented to the carrier before the trip», Explains the ministry.

It also notes that travelers under the age of 16, as well as those arriving in the country on humanitarian grounds, do not need to present test results. However, the latter are obliged to take a test for COVID-19 within 24 hours of arriving in Lithuania.

Last week, reported that Lithuania had removed Malta and French Guiana from the yellow list of countries, placing them on the red list. This means that French Guiana has only been on the red list for a week. Malta, on the other hand, remains on the red list for at least another week.

Lithuania updates country categories based on their infection rates based on data from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) every Friday. The new restrictions take effect the following Monday.

Currently, there are no countries in Lithuania’s green list, while the yellow list includes Fuerteventura, Tenerife and Gran Canaria in Spain, as well as French Mayotte and Guyana only.

While Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe are placed on a special list due to the spread of the Omicron virus variant, other countries around the world are marked as red and gray.

>> Everything you need to know before traveling to Lithuania in the midst of COVID-19

Comments are closed.