List of EU countries restricting US travelers on the rise


The list of restrictions for people traveling from the United States to Europe is growing as members of the European Union implement new rules amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

EU countries including Spain, Denmark, Italy and Norway are tightening restrictions on tourists traveling from the United States following the country’s removal from the country’s travel list safe and while COVID cases continue to rise in the United States.

The EU decision in August signaled member states that they should no longer ease restrictions on non-essential travel for people from the United States amid the latest increase in COVID-19 cases. The United States was initially added to the EU’s safe travel list in June.

►Home COVID-19 tests:Here’s what travelers need to know

►Can Americans visit Europe this fall? :It is complicated. What travelers need to know.

Spain requires proof of vaccination

Spain began requiring proof of vaccination from travelers arriving from the United States from Monday. U.S. citizens can enter Spain for non-essential tourism by showing proof of vaccination, according to the U.S. Embassy and Consulate in Spain and Andorra.

In addition, US citizens traveling from the United States to Spain must present upon arrival in Spain a QR code generated through the Spain Travel Health portal, obtained through the website or by downloading the SpTH app from the Google Play Store. or the iTunes App Store for every traveler, regardless of age, ”the embassy said on its website.

The rule applies to anyone coming from the United States, even if they stopped in a third country before entering Spain.

Denmark bans unvaccinated tourists from the United States

Denmark bans unvaccinated tourists from the United States. The change came after the country moved the United States to its “orange” travel advisory category on Saturday. Previously, American tourists could enter Denmark with a negative coronavirus test or proof of recovery.

Some unvaccinated people from the United States can still enter Denmark with proof of a negative COVID-19 test, but will need to have “a laudable goal” such as work, school or legal matters, according to a website spouse of the Danish authorities. Unvaccinated travelers allowed to enter will need to be quarantined.

Entry requirements do not change for fully vaccinated U.S. travelers, who are still exempt from testing and quarantine requirements.

Bulgaria has moved the United States to its “red zone”

Bulgaria announced earlier this month that it will move the United States to its “red zone” and ban travel from the United States, regardless of its vaccination status, as the country faces its fourth wave of COVID-19.

Italy added tests and isolation requirements

Italy added testing and self-isolation requirements for American travelers in late August after the EU removed the United States from its safe travel list.

While the most dramatic policy changes will affect unvaccinated travelers – who are always welcome to enter the country, as long as they take the time to self-isolate – vaccinated travelers will have to take additional steps of new travel requirements. test. Travelers can provide proof of vaccination using a paper card bearing the CDC logo.

Sweden bans travelers from the United States

Sweden announced Thursday that travelers from the United States would be banned from entering the country regardless of their vaccination status from Monday, amending its travel ban.

“Effective September 6, Sweden removed the United States from its list of countries whose residents are exempt from its entry ban,” the United States Embassy in Sweden said on its website. “US citizens who reside in an exempt country are still exempt from the entry ban.”

Norway does not allow US citizens unless visiting family

Norway has also blocked entry for US citizens with one exception: family.

“Unless the traveler is eligible for a travel exception, such as close family members and people with an established relationship with a resident of Norway,” the US Embassy in Norway said on its website.

Belgium demands proof of COVID vaccine

US residents must be able to show proof of vaccination to enter Belgium on non-essential travel.

“US residents can travel from the US to Belgium without an essential travel certificate if they can present a valid vaccination certificate,” the US Embassy in Belgium said on its website. “Travelers from the United States who cannot present a valid vaccination certificate will not be allowed to travel to Belgium for non-essential reasons, unless they hold EU citizenship or residency. . “

Netherlands added testing requirements

The Netherlands began viewing the United States as “a very high risk area” on Saturday, the United States embassy and consulate in the Netherlands said on its website.

Travelers are allowed entry if they are fully vaccinated and comply with a mandatory quarantine (unless they “meet the criteria for an exemption”).

“As of September 6, 2021, these travelers must also present a negative COVID-19 PCR test OR a negative antigen test carried out within 24 hours before departure for entry to the Netherlands,” the embassy continued. . “Even travelers who are exempt from testing and quarantine requirements must complete a quarantine declaration.”

Germany has added the United States to its “high risk” zones

Germany added the United States to its list of “high risk” areas in mid-August, ahead of the EU’s announcement.

As of August 15, travelers who have recently spent time in the United States must be fully immunized or demonstrate a “significant reason” to enter. People not vaccinated or unable to prove their recovery will have to self-isolate for 10 days upon arrival. The quarantine period may end on the fifth day with proof of a negative coronavirus test.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.