Campus Times Wins Two Society of Professional Journalists Achievement Awards

The University of La Verne Campus hours The student newspaper has won two 2022 regional awards for excellence from the Society of Professional Journalists, including placing in the “Best All-Around” competition, the association announced.

For the first time, the Campus hours was awarded the “Corbin Gwaltney Award for Best All-Round Student Newspaper” for which the entire staff was named a “Finalist” (second place) in the Western Regional Competition among Academic Media, based on published work in 2021. Deja Goode, Journalism Alumnus of 2021, served as Spring 2021 Editor, and David Gonzalez, Senior Journalism Major, served as Fall 2021 Editor.

Additionally, Jaydelle Herbert, a senior journalism major, was named a finalist (second place) in the “Breaking News” category for her story “University to Host In-Person Launch Event in June.”

The annual Mark of Excellence awards honor the best journalism students. Judges review applicants based on the following criteria:

  • Accuracy and Completeness
  • Enterprise and ingenuity
  • Compliance with high journalistic standards
  • Significance and effectiveness
  • Mitigating circumstances
  • Clarity, insight and respect for the public
  • Creative use of the medium’s unique capabilities
  • Membership of the SPJ Code of ethics
  • Resources available

Journalism Professor Elizabeth Zwerling is Chief Faculty Advisor and Associate Professor of Photography Shannon Benine is Photography Advisor for the Campus hours.

Eric Borer, Head of Journalism Operations, designed and implemented the remote workflow system – through which the Campus hours published weekly without interruption throughout the pandemic.

One of the largest and best-known journalism organizations – with approximately 300 chapters across the United States and more than 9,000 media members – the Society of Professional Journalists, formerly known as Sigma Delta Chi, was established in 1909 at DePaw University. In addition to its annual competitions for excellence in journalism, SPJ works to promote and defend freedom of expression and freedom of the press, and to support diversity, ethical behavior, and high standards in professional and student journalism.

The Mark of Excellence Awards are the second major recognition for Campus hours this year, after last month’s awards School Press Association of Colombia.

Comments are closed.