2022 DuPont-Columbia Journalism Award Winners Announced | Arizona News

NEW YORK (AP) — From an in-depth look at how the United States Capitol insurgency unfolded to the spread of the coronavirus pandemic and the disinformation campaigns that accompanied it, the winners of the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards for 2022 were announced on Tuesday.

Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism recognized the 16 winners during a virtual presentation, honoring journalism in broadcast, cable, online, documentary and streaming media.

In recent years, the winners of what was once a competition for radio and television stations have multiplied, and so have they this year.

The New York Times won for its reconstruction of audio and visual footage to show how the riot in the capital took place, and HBO Documentary Films won for a look at how the coronavirus started in China and how it swept away. has spread to the United States.

Apple TV Plus and Jigsaw Productions won for a podcast series about former Navy SEAL Eddie Gallagher. Amazon Studios, Participant Media and Storyville Films won for a documentary about civil rights activist Pauli Murray.

political cartoons

PBS had a connection with four of the awards. His series “Independent Lens” was awarded for a documentary on the Philadelphia prosecutor. His “POV” series won two awards; one with American Documentary, Inc. and LBx Africa on a young political candidate in Kenya, and another with American Documentary, Inc. and Third Shift Media on a daycare. A collaboration between PBS’s “Frontline,” NPR, and Planet Money has won a podcast about the environmental dangers of plastic.

VICE News won for a documentary about the 2020 Port of Beirut explosion and the efforts of medical professionals, and 99% Invisible, Stitcher Media and PRX won for a podcast series on homelessness.

HISTORY Channel, WNYC Studios and KOSU received an award for a podcast series about the Tulsa Massacre, while CBS News won for Norah O’Donnell’s reporting on military sexual assault.

Four local television stations were among the winners: KXTV Sacramento and journalist Brandon Rittiman for reporting on a California power company linked to a fire in 2018; KARE11 Minneapolis/St. Paul and journalist AJ Lagoe for articles on cuts to medical care in prisons; KNXV Phoenix and reporter Dave Biscobing for stories about the Phoenix Police Department; and NBC Bay Area (KNTV) for stories about a group of women fighting for housing.

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Comments are closed.